The very first PhD journey
So how do I feel through a year of my PhD?
Some memories of my first day stick in my brain badly.
On my first day, no one tell me that I could go to the campus on the 14th day of my quarantine days. I thought that I would be going after passing 14 days. I was rushed on that days, cause two of the members picked me up suddenly during lunchtime. They're my senior and my friend in the same year of enrollment. Actually, they are the same age, but not to me. Does it matter? To be honest, I never think that age is a matter of making relationships like friends. Well yeah, we're gonna be a part of lab members anyway. But it does matter so hard. Let's skip this for the next.
My first shock was when I said, "I hope we can be a great partner". Since we're in the same lab, I hit this feeling like my normal wishes but someone replied to me "no!". That's surprised me a bit. I thought it was just a joke, but it's the truth. The fact is the member isn't your friend, because the environment made us competitive with each other. Do you think it's good? I don't think so. Because for me, wherever I stay, a human should be kind, not to get the positive feedback from others even you will get it naturally, but just think about to make good memories with every people we meet. Thus feelings strengthen you up, make your work better, and give good results, for yourself, the people surrounding you, and of course for the institute.
The student room didn't provide a computer for new students, new PhD students. That's a bit shocked me too. Anyway, I felt so bored on my first day because my senior didn't let me come into the lab just because I didn't bring my slippers. What's the deal bro? It's my first day, which means I wouldn't do any experiment for sure, but why did people hard for me on my first day? Yeah, so they used slippers in the lab. But that's okay if we just took a look using shoes. The conclusion is I didn't get any proper lab introduction. Not even!
As I know, an introduction is needed to give to every new member. It's the normal time for the head in an institute or lab to show the people and place you will work with. How about another thing?
My advisor came to me and shocked me with a question "why do you just sit and stay here? why don't you take a walk and see around?"
Well tell me guys, is it normal? If on your first day, you just put your bag there and leave for a walk? ignore your new people? I don't think it's good. Because I was waiting for the moment of someone explain to me, I am your head here, they are your lab members, and here are some rules in this place.
I only stayed for 4 to 5 hours on my first day but hell so bored. It's my experience with some unexpected welcoming. It's almost a year passed but somehow those feelings trapped me.
What I want to say is a first impression will lead you to the vibes. Is it hard for being a human? to not just focus on giving and taking as your reason for being kind to each other. We live once, shortly. People come and go, and do you really wanna rest your life with a bad or meaningless memory? Will it hurt you if you treat people as normal human beings?
Please live this life positively ~
Comments
Post a Comment